pasoblux.blogg.se

Garmin mapsource symbol names
Garmin mapsource symbol names










Find out how in this tip and learn to get more information out of your GPS data: Step One: Add GPS Tracks, Waypoints, and RoutesĬollect tracks, waypoints, or routes using your GPS device. img files with different names, so you can use multiple map sets.You can easily add GPS data, including waypoints, tracks, or routes, to your ArcGIS Online web maps. For most devices, you need to copy it to a directory named "Garmin", but apparently for the Nuvi 1390 it needs to be in a directory named "Map" (according to that list in the wiki).

garmin mapsource symbol names

For Garmins that work in mass storage mode, you just need to copy a gmapsupp.img file to the correct directory on the removable drive. Its probably easiest just to take a copy of everything on the removable drive.Īlso note you can upload maps without using MapSource. So if you have any maps on it you want to keep, it would be a good idea to back them up first. Note by default when you upload a map set from MapSource, it will delete any maps that were previously on the device. MapSource should detect the drive, and let you send the maps to it. Just select some maps, then click "Send to Device". But MapSource should still be able to upload to it (assuming Wine can see it as a removable drive). I'm not familiar with that model Nuvi, but it sounds like it only works in mass storage mode. See this list on the wiki: Garmin USB Mass storage mode Older Garmin devices worked using Garmin USB protocol (so would show up as /dev/ttyUSB0), but most recent models only work in USB Mass Storage Mode (so just show up as a removable drive). I'm not sure which tutorials you are referring to. TLDR: My GPS should show as /dev/ttyUSB0, but it doesn't. So if anyone can make it appear as /dev/ttyUSB0 or knows another way to put maps on it (without removing the maps that already are on it), please tell me. But since I don't have ttyUSB0, I can't make the softlink. Than I could connect MapSource to the GPS. Once I have it as ttyUSB0, I should make a softlink from the com0 port of Wine to that device. Some tips also suggest sudo modprobe garmin_gps to make it appear as /dev/ttyUSB0, but that did change nothing at all. Loop6 rtc0 tty20 tty53 ttyS27 vga_arbiterĪs you see, there are some extra devices (most notably sdb and sdc), but nothing that looks like /dev/ttyUSB0. Loop2 random tty20 tty53 ttyS27 vga_arbiterĪnd this is after I have plugged in my GPS: agpgart mem sda2 tty24 tty57 ttyS30īlock network_latency sda6 tty26 tty59 ttyS4īsg network_throughput sda7 tty27 tty6 ttyS5ītrfs-control null sda8 tty28 tty60 ttyS6Ĭpu_dma_latency ram0 snapshot tt圓5 ttyS0 usbmon2

garmin mapsource symbol names

This is my /dev before I plugin the GPS (sorry for the mess, but I cannot get the formatting right): agpgart mem sda2 tty28 tty60 ttyS6īlock network_latency sda6 tt圓 tty62 ttyS8īsg network_throughput sda7 tt圓0 tty63 ttyS9ītrfs-control null sda8 tt圓1 tty7 uinputĬpu_dma_latency ram0 stdin tt圓9 ttyS12 vcs2

garmin mapsource symbol names

I have installed MapSource 6.16.3 in wine 1.3.22 on Ubuntu 11.04, the installation worked, and I'm able to view maps and all those things, but I have installed MapSource mainly to send maps (OpenMtbMap to be specific) to my Garmin GPS (Nüvi 1390).Īccording to the different tutorials and tips that I have read, I should see my GPS as /dev/ttyUSB0, but when I plug the USB in, I only see it as an extra HDD.












Garmin mapsource symbol names